Limitations…What Limitations?


Just imagine the world today if some of the great inventors, scientists and artists believed in limitations or listened to the nay sayers around them, would we have electricity, computers, I phones, disease fighting drugs or IMAX movies? Probably not.

As children we tried anything, we took chances, failure wasn’t an option but during the course of our lives we are conditioned to fit in and not take chances, make waves or go to the beat of our own drum, we are constantly reminded that we have limitations; we’re too short, too tall, too skinny, too fat, not smart enough, not athletic enough, too poor or it’s just not in our genes or in the stars or the big one “you are going to fail”.

With all this negative conditioning what is it that makes those individuals succeed, those that become the artists and leaders? Are they special or better than us? Are they gifted?  Are they smarter than us? The answer is unequivocally NO, they just don’t know what limitations are and they don’t listen to the “what if’s” or that little voice in their head saying “STOP before you fail, make a fool of yourself”. That’s the difference.

We are all the same. It’s the ones who don’t listen to rhetoric or side with caution, it is the ones who make the waves, go against the norm, dance to a different beat, those are the ones who become the artists and leaders, the movers and shakers, They are the reason we can enjoy so many of the great things they envisioned but were not afraid to pursue.

When I was 15 years old I tore my knee up pretty good in a bike accident. Back in the 70’s, knee surgery was pretty much in its infancy. After 2 surgeries and months of rehab, I was told by the physician that I would be a cripple by the time I was 30 and would never be able to do sports. Being 15 I really didn’t think about what life would be like at 30 or what my limitations were, so I joined a Taekwondo school. Now this was odd in itself because here I was with a big knee brace and limited mobility joining a martial art that focused primarily on kicking. Limitations? I had plenty but I didn’t believe or listen to others or that negative little voice.

Sure, I had my self doubts, listened to a few nay sayers along the way and battled with the little voice, but in the end I won the battle. This year I turned 50, I can walk, run, practice Taekwondo (kicking with both legs) and I’m as active and pain free as I was back in the day. It wasn’t easy, but it was well worth the time and effort. I achieved my 5th Dan Blackbelt, became an International Referee a certified Kettlebell and fitness instructor. I now own and run a fulltime school with 120 active students, and having the time of my life, so if you think you can’t do the same, look at those around who did and I’m positive you will see someone just like yourself.

Our only limitations are the ones we create. Are your limitations holding you back from greatness?

By

Master Tim Bell

Leave a Reply

