200

On January 4th, 2010 I made the decision to make a few changes in my life over the next 365 days, so I sat down and put together a list of personal, martial arts and community based goals that would ultimately change my life, inspire my family, friends and students that nothing was impossible and even more importantly make a positive difference in the world.

Once I announced my little project to my family, friends and students, I was met with everything from skepticism to jubilation. One of my goals was to give up my favorite weekend beverage…BEER. My daughter was pretty sure that I had been abducted by aliens and an imposter had taken over my body. If you knew me well you would agree with her whole hardily. Beer was one of my favorite weekend vices, other than watching my beloved Packers on Sunday. I hope the NSLC has since forgiven me.

Fast forward 7 months…it’s now day 200 of my 365 day quest. So far I’ve completed 40,500 pushups, lifted 1,112,943 kg’s using Kettlebells, Completed 42 acts of kindness and lost a whooping 10 lbs, just to name a few. Personally I feel and look better than I have in years.

Other than how great I feel, I have also become more aware of the urgent issues facing our existence and have become more empathetic to the delicate world around me. Important issues like the dangers of Aspartame and the obesity epidemic, run away global warming and the destruction of the environment, along with the tragic slaughter of innocent Dolphins in Japan. These are issues that affect us all whether we like it or not. These are issues that need more concerned voices and more concrete solutions. It’s disheartening to see so many of us who ignore the call and remain silent and numb.

My biggest eye opening experience was becoming more conscious of what I was putting into my body. It’s an eye opening experience, walking into a convenience store and trying to find food or drink that is healthy in anyway. These stores are crammed to the rafters with cheap, unhealthy high calorie, obesity causing convenience foods, and if the label says diet it’s pretty well guaranteed to be laced with cancer causing aspartame. It’s no wonder we have a sick, unhealthy society and a health system in crisis. Our big Grocery stores aren’t much better with their pristine isles of sodas and snacks. One has to search high and low for any healthy, chemical free alternatives, and if you’re lucky enough to find any, they’re usually hidden in the back on the bottom shelf.

Have I changed over the last 200 days? I’d have to say that I’ve become more in touch with myself and the environment. I have definitely become more cynical of the status quo. What I do know for sure is that we are being brainwashed and lied to by government, big business and big oil, whose only agenda is unlimited growth at the expense of our heath and future concerns.

If we continue to squander our resources, fill our bodies with toxins and chemicals and continue to be wastrels our existence and our planets future is in real serious jeopardy. I guess the good life does come at a high price.

I have only 165 days left to finish what I started, but in reality should there be an end? I think I’ll keep this party going.

If you would like to follow my progress or get inspired join me on my blog at:
http://livelikeanolympian.wordpress.com/

Get inspired today…Join the fight!

By: Master Tim Bell

One Response

  1. […] am – I wrote a blog post, you can read it HERE 44.637534 […]

Leave a Reply

